Yes. To remove a published content element from Normal View simply roll it over and from the blue wrench  icon appearing in the top left corner choose More. From the list of additional options choose "Hide from viewers". The hidden content will become grayed. After hiding the content, publish the page and the item will no longer be available in Normal View. When you decide to restore the item in Normal View again, roll it over and from the wrench  icon > More select "Show to viewers" and publish the change.